Recent Contacts

CPFF representatives connect with governments at all levels to advocate for support for Canadians living with pulmonary fibrosis.

The following are some of our most recent contacts with municipal, provincial and federal government elected officials and public servants, as well as representatives of the Crown.



Late last month, the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) and the Quebec equivalent L’Institut national d’excellence en santé et en service sociaux (INESSS) recommended that nintedanib (Ofev) be reimbursed for the treatment of chronic pulmonary fibrosing interstitial lung diseases with a progressive phenotype under certain conditions. You can read the CADTH summary report here and the INESSS report here.



During Pulmonary Fibrosis Awareness Month, several municipal, provincial and federal government officials supported our Community through proclamations of the Month or sending greetings through, our campaign microsite. You can read or watch the actual announcements on the Stories section of that website.

Proclamations came from:
Charlie Clark, Mayor of Saskatoon
Frank Scarpitti, Mayor of Markham, Ontario
Tyler Shandro, Q.C., Alberta Minister of Health

Video greetings were received from:
Peter Bevan-Baker, Leader of the PEI Green Party
Christine Elliott, Ontario Minister of Health
John Horgan, Premier of British Columbia
Wab Kinew, Leader of the Manitoba NDP
Ryan Meili, Leader of the Saskatchewan NDP
Scott Moe, Premier of Saskatchewan
Naheed Nenshi, Mayor of Calgary


CPFF made a patient organization submission to CADTH to advocate for access to nintedanib (Ofev) beyond people with IPF.


Met with Tara Wilson, Caroline Proctor and Heather MacDermid of the Provincial Programs Branch, Priority & Acute Care Unit, Ontario Ministry of Health, to discuss the CPFF proposal for funding for ILD Nurses in clinics in Ontario. Follow-up email with Marisha Warrington of the same office later in January.



On December 4, 2019, CPFF held a lobby day at Queen’s Park in Toronto, Ontario, followed by an information reception for MPPs. Four of the MPPs attending, one from each political party, spoke in support of CPFF and it’s request for ILD nurses in five Ontario ILD clinics. (Read more about this request in our December 2019 newsletter Hope Breathes Here.)

CPFF representatives also met earlier in the day with Mike Heenan, Assistant Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Health and Kristin Taylor as well as Christine Hogarth, MPP for Etobicoke-Lakeshore. Subsequent meetings in January 2020 have already been planned with Ministry staff to advise CPFF on the requirements for a successful proposal. Additional meetings have also been scheduled in January with MPPs who were unable to attend the reception or meet with us on December 4.

Christine Hogarth, MPP Etobicoke-Lakeshore, centre, met with representatives from CPFF on Dec. 4, 2019 at Queen’s Park. On the left are Melissa Sulpher, CPFF patient, and her husband Brian Heimpel and on the right are Kirk Morrison, CPFF President, and Sharon Lee, CPFF Executive Director.















The following are a list of MPPs who attended the afternoon reception on December 4. The first four listed also addressed the gathering.

  1. Mike Schreiner, Leader of the Green Party of Ontario and MPP for Guelph
  2. John Fraser, Interim Leader of the Ontario Liberal Party and MPP for Ottawa South
  3. Jill Andrew, MPP for Toronto-St. Paul’s (she is a member of the NDP)
  4. Robin Martin, Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Health, and MPP for Eglinton-Lawrence
  5. Teresa Armstrong, MPP for London-Fanshawe
  6. Gilles Bisson, MPP for Timmins
  7. Guy Bourgouin, MPP for Mushkegowuk-James Bay
  8. Steve Clark, MPP for Leeds-Grenville-Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes (and Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing)
  9. Catherine Fife, MPP For Waterloo
  10. Faisal Hassan, MPP for York South-Weston
  11. Andrea Khanjin, MPP for Barrie-Innisfil
  12. Sol Mamakwa, MPP for Kiiwetinoong
  13. Billy Pang, MPP for Markham-Unionville
  14. Sheref Sabawy, MPP for Mississauga-Erin Mills
  15. John Vanthof, MPP for Timiskaming-Cochrane
  16. John Yakabuski, MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke (and Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry)

The following are a list of MPPs who sent staff (in some cases more than one person) to attend the CPFF reception on their behalf: 

  1. Lisa Gretzky, MPP for Windsor West
  2. Christine Hogarth, MPP for Etobicoke-Lakeshore
  3. Andrea Horwath, Leader of the New Democratic Party of Ontario and MPP for Hamilton Centre
  4. Logan Kanapathi, MPP for Markham-Thornhill
  5. Vincent Ke, MPP for Don Valley North
  6. Laura Mae Lindo, MPP for Kitchener Centre
  7. Michael Mantha, MPP for Algoma-Manitoulin
  8. Rick Nicholls, MPP for Chatham-Kent – Leamington
  9. Kaleed Rasheed, MPP for Mississauga East-Cooksville
  10. Peggy Sattler, MPP for London West
  11. Sara Singh, MPP for Brampton Centre
  12. Todd Smith, MPP for Bay of Quinte (and Minister of Children, Community and Social Services)
  13. Vijay Thanigasalam, MPP for Scarborough-Rouge Park
  14. Michael Tibvollo, MPP for Vaughan-Woodbridge (and Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions)
  15. One staff person from the Office of the Premier

Our February 2020 issue of the CPFF newsletter Hope Breathes Here will bring you the latest updates on our progress with this request of the Ontario government. The newsletter will be sent out by email and posted our website on February 5, 2020. (There is no issue in January.) To receive our newsletter, free of charge, complete the Stay Informed form here.

To view additional photos from the Ontario MPP reception, hosted by CPFF, visit here.


During Pulmonary Fibrosis Month in September 2019, several government representatives attended or participated in a variety of events to help increase public awareness of pulmonary fibrosis. The following are some of those people and events:

Burnaby Mayor Mike Hurley presented Sharon Lee, CPFF Executive Director, with a Proclamation from the City for Pulmonary Fibrosis Month.

Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi attended the Clarke Family Walk for Pulmonary Fibrosis in Calgary.

Members of Calgary City Council, including Mayor Naheed Nenshi, blew bubbles in support of people living with pulmonary fibrosis.

MLA David Shepherd and MP Ziad Aboultaif attended a patient education event in Edmonton.

Markham Mayor Frank Scarpitti holds up the Markham Proclamation with CPFF representative Heather Davidson.

The Honourable Antoinette Perry, Lieutenant Governor of Prince Edward Island helped raise a flag in recognition of Pulmonary Fibrosis Awareness Month with local residents Winston Younker, Doug Archbell and Mike MacLean. The flag was raised on August 30, 2019 for September.

PEI Minister of Health James Aylward addressed the audience at the Pulmonary Fibrosis Forum in PEI. MLAs Cory Deagle and Michele Beaton also attended the Forum.

In Newfoundland, St. John’s and Mount Pearl City Councils proclaimed September as Pulmonary Fibrosis Awareness Month.

February and March

Earlier in 2019, CPFF Executive Director Sharon Lee met with the following people:

March 20, MPP Doug Downey, Parliamentary Assistant, Ministry of Finance.

March 16, MP Frank Baylis at a fund development event held in Montreal.

March 14, Charles Lamman, Director of Policy and Laurel Brazill, Director of Stakeholder Relations, from the office of the Ontario Minister of Health.

March 6, MPP Stephen Crawford, member of the Ontario Finance committee.

March 6, MPP John Fraser, Ontario Interim Liberal Leader.

March 1, MPP Stan Cho, member of the Ontario Finance committee.

February 1, Kailey Vokes from the office of the Ontario Minister of Finance.